Stovall Award Logo

Ellen L. Stovall Award
Nominations and Selection Process

Stovall Award Nominations

American Society of Clinical OncologyThe Stovall Award is given annually to two recipients who have improved the care and lives of cancer survivors and their families — one health care provider and one patient advocate or advocacy organization. The health care provider award is co-presented by the American Society of Clinical Oncology.
Stovall Award Honorees Harmar Brereton and Dana Dornsife with presenters

2019 Stovall Awards Presentation: (L to R) Rep. Matt Cartwright, Dr. Harmar Brereton, NCCS CEO Shelley Fuld Nasso, Dana Dornsife, Rep. Mark DeSaulnier, Sen. Bob Casey. (Photo: Leslie E. Kossoff/LK Photos)

Award Eligibility and Criteria

The following are eligible for Stovall Award consideration:

  • Cancer survivors
  • Health care providers (nurses, oncology care teams and practices, physicians, social workers)
  • Health plans or other third-party payers
  • NCCS Cancer Policy and Advocacy Team (CPAT) Members
  • Patient advocates/Patient advocacy organizations
  • Other individuals or organizations impacting cancer care

Note: Nominations will be considered only for individuals or organizations within the United States.

Nominee Criteria

Cancer advocates/advocacy organizations with excellence in these areas:

  • Promoting the principles of patient-centeredness, especially emphasizing access to care, respect for patient preferences, and coordination and integration of care.
  • Engaging patients, families, and caregivers to inform the process of improving the delivery of quality cancer care.
  • Collaborating effectively with other advocates and/or advocacy organizations to align efforts to improve quality within the cancer care system.

Health care providers with excellence in these areas:

  • Honoring the principles of patient-centeredness, especially emphasizing access to care, respect for patient preferences, and coordination and integration of care.
  • Engaging patients, families, and caregivers in the design of quality cancer care systems.
  • Collaborating with others in the cancer care system for ongoing quality improvement efforts.

Who can submit a nomination?

Anyone can submit a nomination for the Stovall Award—and nominations submitted by cancer patients, survivors, and advocates are especially welcome.
Self-nominations are also accepted.

Submission Requirements

  • Submit a letter of support for the nominee* containing a narrative including the nominee’s name, the writer’s relationship to the nominee, and how the nominee exemplifies excellence in the areas listed in the above criteria.

    *Self-nominations encouraged

  • The selection committee leadership will review the submissions and select finalists.
  • Nominators of finalists will be asked to submit, within two weeks of notification:
    • Three to five letters of support for the nominee, including two letters of support from patients or survivors directly served by the nominee.
    • Optionally, submit up to five relevant examples that demonstrate the nominee’s achievements or impact on patient-centered cancer care (Examples might include organizational annual reports, educational videos or other enduring materials, public awareness campaign materials, etc).

Back to Top

Stovall Award Selection Committee

Nominations for the Stovall Award are reviewed by a committee of healthcare professionals, survivors and caregivers, with a strong representation from cancer survivors and patient advocates.

Jonathan Stovall, Douglas Blayney, MD, and Shelley Fuld NassoJonathan Stovall (L) & Shelley Fuld Nasso (R) present the inaugural Stovall Award to Douglas Blayney, MD (2016)

Douglas Blayney, MD – Co-Chair
Stanford University Medical Center

Shelley Fuld Nasso, MPP – Co-Chair
National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship

Samira Beckwith*
Chair, NCCS Board of Directors

Amy Berman, BSN, LHD*
The John A. Hartford Foundation

Harmar Brereton, MD
Northeast Regional Cancer Institute

Univ. of Texas Southwestern

Tom Dowling*

Ben Fishman*
NCCS Board Member

Yvonne Florence*
Patient Advocate & NCCS CPAT Member

Susan Gubar*
Columnist, The New York Times

Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO
American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Laurie Isenberg*
NCCS Board Member

Deborah Kamin
American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Michael Kolodziej, MD
ADVI Health, Inc.

Susan Leigh*
NCCS Co-Founder & CPAT Member

Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, FACP
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center

Jennifer Malin, MD
United Health Group,
University of California–Los Angeles

Kristen McNiff, MPH
KM Healthcare Consulting

Therese Mulvey, MD*
Massachusetts General Hospital

Michael Neuss, MD
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Lisa D. T. Rice, SM
NCCS Board Member

Thomas J. Smith, MD*
Johns Hopkins Medicine

*Cancer Survivor

Back to Top