Stovall Award LogoThe Ellen L. Stovall Award for
Innovation in Patient-Centered Cancer Care

The Ellen L. Stovall Award for Innovation in Patient-Centered Cancer Care is a unique opportunity for patients and survivors to recognize exceptional providers who are transforming cancer care.

The Stovall Award will be awarded annually to individuals, organizations, or other entities who demonstrate innovation in improving cancer care for patients in America. NCCS seeks nominations for the Stovall Award from cancer survivors, health care professionals, third-party payers, and others who are engaged with the cancer care system. All nominations must include letters of support from patients, and patients/survivors comprise at least half of the Selection Committee.


Ellen Stovall and her dog AnnieAbout Ellen Stovall

In more than two decades of service and leadership at the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship (NCCS), Ellen L. Stovall crusaded for the delivery of quality cancer care to all Americans. As a cancer survivor of more than four decades, Ellen sought to design her own system of patient-centered care to address the serious late and long-term effects of her cancer treatment, including the treatment of a second cancer. In pursuing her own system of care, she focused on care that emphasized strong doctor-patient communication, coordination of care and symptom management, and full consideration of the evidence supporting treatment options.

Ellen considered herself a “lucky” cancer survivor because her advocacy for herself opened the door to some of the best of American cancer care, accompanied by some of the glitches and gaps in care that many experience. Ellen’s pursuit of her own quality cancer care informed NCCS efforts to improve the overall cancer care delivery and payment system. Ellen and her colleagues at NCCS pursued changes in public and private payment systems that would encourage cancer care professionals to provide patient-centered care through partnership with their patients and through redesign of their systems to honor the principles of patient-centeredness.

Nomination Process

Nominations for the 2017 Stovall Award have closed. We have been inspired by the submissions we received. NCCS extends our deepest gratitude to everyone who submitted nominations.

Nominee Criteria

Nominees for the award will be evaluated according to these criteria:

  • Honoring the principles of patient-centeredness, especially emphasizing access to care, respect for patient preferences, and coordination and integration of care.
  • Engaging patients, families, and caregivers in the design of quality cancer care systems.
  • Implementing a quality cancer care system for sustainability and for replication.
  • Collaborating with others in the cancer care system for ongoing quality improvement efforts.

Award Timeline

April 4 — Call for nominations
May 31 — Submissions due (SUBMISSIONS CLOSED)
July — Awardee notified by NCCS
October 19 — Ellen Stovall Award Reception

The award will be presented at the Ellen Stovall Award Reception in Washington, DC on October 19th, 2017. Transportation for the awardee and a guest will be provided. Additionally, NCCS will work with the awardee to develop a video for the reception.

Past Recipient

2016 — Douglas W. Blayney, MD, FACP (Inaugural Awardee)


All submissions will be initially reviewed by NCCS Staff and the Selection Committee Chair. Five to ten finalists will be selected from the group to be reviewed by the selection committee, from which the finalist will be chosen. In-person or phone interviews may be conducted with finalists.

Nominations will be accepted from the following entities:

  • Cancer survivors
  • Patient advocacy organizations
  • NCCS Cancer Policy and Advocacy Team (CPAT) Members
  • Oncology practices
  • Health plans or other third-party payers

Submission Requirements

  • A narrative explaining why the nominee should be considered for the Stovall Award (1,000 Words Max)
  • Three to five letters of support for the nominee*
  • (Optional) Up to five relevant works that demonstrate the nominee’s achievements or impact on patient-centered cancer care

*All nominations require at least two letters of support from patients or survivors served by the nominee.

Selection Committee

Nominations will be reviewed by a committee of healthcare professionals, survivors and caregivers, with a strong representation from cancer survivors and patient advocates. At least fifty percent of the committee must be cancer survivors.

Selection Committee Members

Jonathan Stovall, Douglas Blayney, MD, and Shelley Fuld NassoJonathan Stovall (L) & Shelley Fuld Nasso (R) present the inaugural Stovall Award to Douglas Blayney, MD (2016)

Douglas Blayney, MD – Co-Chair
Stanford University Medical Center

Shelley Fuld Nasso, MPP – Co-Chair
National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship

Samira Beckwith*
NCCS Board Member

Amy Berman, BSN, LHD*
The John A. Hartford Foundation

Univ. of Texas Southwestern

Thomas Feeley, MD

MD Anderson Cancer Center

Susan Gubar*
Columnist, The New York Times

Barbara Hoffman, JD*
NCCS Co-Founder,
Rutgers Law School

Clifford A. Hudis, MD, FACP, FASCO
American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Laurie Isenberg*
NCCS Board Member

Deborah Kamin
American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO)

Michael Kolodziej, MD
Flatiron Health

Susan Leigh*
NCCS Co-Founder,

Ana Maria Lopez, MD, MPH, FACP
University of Utah School of Medicine

Jennifer Malin, MD
United Health Group,
University of California–Los Angeles

Sammantha McDonald*


Kristen McNiff, MPH
Dana Farber Cancer Institute

Fitzhugh Mullan, MD*
NCCS Co-Founder,
George Washington University

Therese Mulvey, MD*
Massachusetts General Hospital

Michael Neuss, MD
Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Joshua Sharfstein, MD
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Thomas J. Smith, MD*
Johns Hopkins Medicine

Peter Ubel, MD*
Duke University

Dan Weber*
National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship

Kathryn West*

*Cancer Survivor

Sponsorship Information

(Word Document — Right-click, save as)

For questions about submissions, eligibility, or sponsorship of the Stovall Award, please contact:

Elena Jeannotte
Director of Philanthropy
National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship
(301) 650-9127

Back to Top