NCCS 30th Anniversary Reception

30th Anniversary Reception Group Picture

On October 13, 2016, the National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship (NCCS) recognized its 30th anniversary of advocating to improve cancer care. Current and past NCCS staff and board members, cancer survivors, caregivers, and representatives from throughout the cancer community attended to commemorate this milestone.

Today, as the nation’s oldest survivor-led advocacy organization, the event highlighted NCCS’ many contributions to changing the culture of cancer care: by replacing “cancer victim” with “cancer survivor,” creating the concept of “survivorship,” and defining someone as a “survivor” from the time of diagnosis and for the balance of life, now the norm for the cancer community. “NCCS challenged the status quo of cancer care over the past thirty years, increasing the quality of care for millions of patients and their families,” said NCCS CEO Shelley Fuld Nasso.

The Ellen Stovall Award for Leadership in Patient-Centered Care

From left to right: Jonathan Stovall, Douglas W. Blayney, and Shelley Fuld Nasso

From left to right: Jonathan Stovall, Douglas W. Blayney, and Shelley Fuld Nasso

The Ellen Stovall Award for Leadership in Patient-Centered Care was created to honor former NCCS CEO Ellen Stovall, who led the organization for more than twenty years and passed away earlier this year from complications related to her cancer treatments. The award recipient was Douglas W. Blayney, MD, FACP, past president of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) and who worked closely with Ellen Stovall for many years. Together they helped initiate the ASCO Quality Symposium, which has become the leading cancer quality meeting in the world.

“Ellen was a living reminder of cancer survivorship,” said Dr. Blayney. “She lived her life with purpose and never-failing grace. She articulated for so many audiences, the purpose of our work, and reminded us that it was always about the patient. I am honored with the Stovall award.”

At the reception, NCCS announced that beginning in 2017, the Ellen Stovall Award will be an annual, nationwide competition. It will be the first call to action that specifically urges cancer survivors and caregivers to nominate providers who are making dramatic improvements in how they care for cancer patients and their families. With recent changes in care towards value-based reimbursements and the Oncology Care Model, NCCS seeks to highlight providers who are proactively and successfully embracing patient-focused care that is recognized by the very patients they are serving. Dr. Blayney will serve as co-chair of an advisory committee to establish the award’s criteria and evaluate nominations.

CEO Shelley Fuld Nasso Remembers Ellen Stovall

About Ellen Stovall (1946-2016)

Douglas Blayney, MD Accepts the Ellen Stovall Award

About Honoree Douglas W. Blayney, MD

About NCCS

The National Coalition for Cancer Survivorship (NCCS) advocates for quality cancer care for all people touched by cancer and provides tools that empower people to advocate for themselves. Founded by and for cancer survivors, NCCS is a leader in advocating for policy changes that promote quality of care and quality of life after diagnosis. NCCS strongly believes in evidence-based advocacy that reflects the needs of cancer patients to effect policy change at the national level.

Past NCCS Honorees

Bob Schieffer with Ellen Stovall

Bob Schieffer

2008 Excellence In Media Award

Amy Berman

Amy Berman

2012 NCCS President's Award

Mariska Hargitay

Mariska Hargitay

2009 Lilly Tartikoff Hope Award for Cancer Philanthropy

Richard Pazdur

Richard Pazdur, MD

2015 NCCS Public Service Leadership Award

Jessie Gruman

Jessie Gruman

2013 NCCS Special Recognition

Ellen Goodman

Ellen Goodman

2015 Jessie Gruman Award for Patient Engagement

Darlene Hunt

Darlene Hunt

2013 Excellence in Media Award

Lillie D. Shockney

Lillie Shockney, RN, MAS

2014 Catherine Logan Award for Service to Survivorship

Event Sponsors

Presenting Sponsor

Bristol-Myers Squibb

Gold Sponsors

Eisai Logo    Merck Logo

Silver Sponsors

   Amgen Logo       American Society of Clinical Oncology logo-LillyOncology-200x80
Novartis Oncology Logo             PhRMA_Logo                      Takeda Oncology          

Bronze Sponsors

Beckstein Productions
Lori Isenberg and Joel Roos
Levine Cancer Institute

Taiho Oncology
Turner & Goss LLP
Sandy Welton
Eleanor Winter and Dan Backo


AbbVie, Inc.
Tesaro, Inc.


Jeff and Jane Bulman

Children’s Cause for Cancer Advocacy



Hope HealthCare Services,
Samira Beckwith

International Cancer Expert Corps
(C. Norman and Karolynn Coleman,
Nina and Dan Wendling)
In Memory of Ellen Stovall

Kite Pharmaceuticals

Medical Minds, Lynn Nye

Therese Mulvey

Michael and Shelley Nasso


Corinne (Cokie) Roberts